The joy of giving love.

 So here is where I tell you a little about me, and where my heart is.

I am 35 years old (I know..stop it..I don’t look a day over 21 right?..I get it ALL the time ;)  and I have only in the last few years discovered a lot more about myself than I ever knew. I have come to acknowledge the things I am really passionate about in my life, and things I am grateful for above anything else.

I love myself. I am totally aware that I am not perfect and hope never to be (that would be boring). I have as many faults as the next person (unless the next person is a politician, in which case I am waaay ahead). I have annoying habits and quirks, some of the many being impatience and a quick temper. I like to get things done my own way, and in my own time. But I love who I am, and who I can be. I have experienced a lot of pain and heartbreak, bad times and good. I accept that I can be cynical about the universe and how it treats you sometimes. With the right motivation I know I can improve myself and I have unlimited potential. All that sounds very egotistical I suppose, but you have to love who you are, period.

I love my husband. Chili has given me more strength, love and support in the few years since we have met than anyone else ever. He understands who I am and accepts my flaws, as I do his. We share ideas and dreams. We share passions and hopes.  He supports my wild ideas (to start my own business) and my missions (which we will come to soon). He is my best friend. He ‘gets’ me. Every person needs to find that one person who ‘gets’ them. Your life will be that much better for it.

I love my friends. The real ones-You know who you are. Whether we have known each other for two weeks, two years or twenty years.

I love my work. They say if you do something you love it shouldn’t feel like work. That’s where I slot in. I run my own business and I love what I do. It gives me an outlet for my weird creativity. I meet some great…no, not just great… awesome! people through my business, many of whom have since become great friends.

I love animals. It would probably not be an understatement to say that our household somewhat revolves around the furry creatures that run it. We currently have two of our own beautiful dogs-Issy, a black lab cross girl, Tyler, a rotty boy and Torino our russian blue ‘Puma’. In addition to our own mob, we foster for two amazing relentless rescue organisations-Arctic Breed Rescue and Fetching Dogs. Our current charge is an amazing little staffy cross firecracker named Zodiac. If any dog can make your heart melt it is she. The hardest part is letting them go (but I will also revisit this subject later for anyone who is wanting to know how amazing it is to foster)

I love the satisfaction of doing things for ourselves. We are currently in the ongoing stage of renovating our house into a *home*, rebuilding our F-100 truck to suit us and planning a hundred other things. We have done a major part of the renovations ourselves, and while some days it just plain sucks, there is still nothing better than sitting back and looking at your achievements and simply knowing ‘we did this’.

I love being different. Quirky things that stand out get my attention. Things that make other peoples nose wrinkle, like tattoos and loud motorcycles, bright colours and vampires, furry leopard print platforms and skulls, photo collages all over the walls and Elmo, red lipstick and big Doc Martens, Twinkies and Seether, F-100 trucks, lots of music and old cars. Just different things.

So these are some of the things that spin my wheels. Some of my passions and people who make up a part of who I am. Just a small part. If you want to know more, you’ll just have to stick around ;)

Cheers V

Leave a Reply

